Lucia Pitter The Western Wall in Jerusalem
Lucia Pitter The Western Wall in Jerusalem

The following is a press release from the Society of Architectural Historians.

The Society of Architectural Historians has named the 2019 recipients of the SAH Publication Awards and the SAH Award for Film and Video. The Society presented the awards at its 72nd Annual International Conference awards ceremony on April 25 at the First Baptist Church in Providence, R.I. The SAH Publication Awards honor excellence in architectural history, urban history, landscape history and historic preservation scholarship as well as architectural exhibition catalogues. The SAH Award for Film and Video is an annual award that was established in 2013 to recognize the most distinguished work of film or video on the history of the built environment. SAH will begin accepting nominations for the 2020 awards in June 2019. The 2019 award recipients are listed below.

Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award

The Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award was established in 1949 to recognize annually the most distinguished work of scholarship in the history of architecture published by a North American scholar.

Madhuri Desai
Banaras Reconstructed: Architecture and Sacred Space in a Hindu Holy City
University of Washington Press, 2017

Antoinette Forrester Downing Book Award

Named for Antoinette Forrester Downing, this award recognizes excellence in a published work devoted to historical topics in preservation and honors her scholarship and recognition of the value of local inventories and surveys.

Cameron Logan
Historic Capital: Preservation, Race, and Real Estate in Washington, D.C.
University of Minnesota Press, 2017

Daniela Sandler
Counterpreservation: Architectural Decay in Berlin since 1989
Cornell University Press, 2016